top of page

Arielle Rothman



Name: Arielle Rothman

Year: Class of 2021

Concentration: bioengineering

House: Quincy

Program: PRISE


Q: What lab are you in and where is it located?

A: Melton lab located on the 3rd floor of the Sherman Fairchild building near the science center


Q: Describe your research in a few sentences

A: The Melton lab developed a protocol to differentiate stem cells into insulin-secreting beta cells, but these cells are functionally immature. In an effort to identify compounds that induce functional maturation, I am using robots to run a high-throughout screen.


Q: Why did you apply to be in HSURV?

A: I wanted to be a part of the community - plus nice housing and a partial meal plan!


Q: How has your summer been? (compare to term time?)

A: Great, I really enjoy living on the river and having so many fun activities planned.


Q: What has been your favorite memory so far/what was your favorite outing?

A: On the fourth of July a group of my friends decided to have a picnic along the Charles river. We went to CVS and bought a lot of good food and then went to the river and enjoyed some music and good company. Then around 9 we walked over to MIT to enjoy the fireworks. It was a great night!


Q: What is something you have learned during the summer, whether it be academic, social, or personal?

A: I really enjoy learning about the research being performed by other fellows.


Q: Something you found interesting/ funny?

A: Every week on Tuesday the lecturers have held private dinners which I have really enjoyed going to. It’s exciting to learn about our professors in real life context and to get to know their personalities.


Q: Something you want to accomplish this summer?

A: I hope that my work can improve the function of stem cell derived beta cells to help in the effort to treat diabetes


Q: A place you want to visit this summer?

A: I’m really excited to go to Tanglewood. My grandmother really likes it and talks about it so I’m excited to experience it for myself


Q: Did your HSURV experience match your expectations?

A: Yes. There were so many fun activities to join and so many new people to meet


Q: Favorite hobbies/ clubs?

A: I like to dance ballet. I also really enjoy being a member of Harvard Buddies, a program through which I tutor and play with pediatric cancer patients.


Q: Fun fact about you?

A: I was born on 1/1/1999 at 2:22pm and weight 8 lbs and 8 ozs


Q: If you could turn into an animal which one would it be?

A: An axolotl. They can regenerate limbs which is pretty cool.

359 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page