top of page

Serina Hu

Updated: Jul 5, 2018



Q: What is your name, year, and concentration? What HSURV program are you in?

A: Hi guys! My name is Serina Hu, and I'm a rising sophomore concentrating in mathematics with a secondary in either classics or computer science. This summer, I'm conducting research under Professor Joe Harris in the PRISE program.

Q: Describe your research in a few sentences.

A: My research is an independent reading project regarding representation theory of lie groups and algebras.

Q: Why did you apply to be in HSURV?

A: I knew that I wanted to do research this summer, and some of my upperclassmen friends told me how great their HSURV experience was. I also wanted to get closer to the faculty in the mathematics department ... they're not as intimidating as I thought.

Q: How has your summer been so far?

A: It's been really fun and relaxing! I don't have to worry about PSETs, assignments, and assessments. I really like the fact that we can choose our own activities and get funding for them.

Q: What is something you have learned during the summer?

A: I have learned that professors are actually approachable, nice, and funny. They are capable of talking about things other than academics and their own fields.

Q: What is something you want to accomplish this summer?

A: I want to learn some algebraic geometry as well as practice music at least five times a week.

Q: Is there a place you want to visit this summer?

A: New York to see family and friends.

Q: Has your HSURV experience lived up to your expectation of it?

A: Besides the fact that we don’t get food on the weekends and that PRISE is mostly experimental bio people, yes it has.

Q: What are your favorite HSURV hobbies and clubs?

A: Music Club and Book Club.

Q: Would you do PRISE again?

A: YAAAS!


Questions Just for Funsies

Q: What superpower would you want to have?

A: I want to be able to create a pocket dimension that I can fill with all of the things that make my backpack heavy.

Q: Coke or Pepsi? Pineapples on pizza?

A: Coke. Pineapples on pizza? God no...

Q: If you could turn into an animal, which one would you be?

A: Badger because they're usually unthreatening but will fight if necessary and is perhaps excessively loyal to friends


1,225 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page